With the theme “Sustaining Vibrant Agricultural Productivity through Harmonized and Proactive Extension Services,” Agricultural Training Institute (ATI) region 02 celebrates its 32 years of milestones in promoting various good agricultural strategies to improve the lives of its clienteles; farmers and fisher-folk held at IIRI- Malasin, San Mateo, Isabela on January 28-29.
The 2-day celebration was participated by Agricultural Extension Workers and Extension Managers who really gave their best effort at intensifying extension services from different local government units (LGUs) in Cagayan Valley. Part of the program was recognition to them for bringing closer the best agricultural practices in their areas.
Regional Executive Director Narciso A. Edillo of Department of Agriculture-Regional Field Office No. 02 (DA-RFO 02) congratulates and recognizes the 100 participants which serve as training arm of DA for continuously bringing notable extension services.
“DA-RFO 02 is acknowledging your efforts in the development in agriculture sector. Let’s help LGU to stop illegal conversion of agricultural land specifically in irrigated areas to achieve sustainable food at all times, ”said Edillo. “This would address the issue on food sufficiency in the country to make it affordable among people.”
RED Edillo encourages the participants to discover adaptable farming inputs in their respective provinces and municipalities from choosing a climate resilient seeds to mechanize farming and be able to inspire the young minds. “Continue to reintroduce to young generations the practicability and relevance of farming in a way that they will enjoy the rewarding career that is ahead of them,” he said.
Among the awardees for the best Extension Managers category are Municipal Agriculturists Mr. Ramon P. Ramiento, Solano, Nueva Vizcaya, Ms. Marites L. Robinion, Aparri, Cagayan and Mr. Norlando T. Manibog of Cabatuan, Isabela. While for best extension service innovations for AEWs category are Jocelyn C. Ackangan, Roselle H. Agcaoili and Dick F. Sumayang.